Mothern to Speyer

I had a lovely night with my French host Gilles and his family last night. Not only did he welcome me into his house he invited me to join the family for an evening meal. It was a typical French meal started at 7 and we eventually finished at 9. 4 courses and red wine and good company what more could you ask for. Gilles spoke English and his wife and daughter understood English but didn’t speak it well and I tried my German a bilingual evening.

Gilles gave me information on the route today and gave me a local map which was invaluable. I stuck to this side of the Rhine today and didn’t go across the river to Karlsruhe like my map suggested. It wasn’t bright sunshine but it was hot and sticky plenty fluid drunk. I made good time today, I saw the Rhine first thing then headed into ride on asphalt cycle route in the wooded area behind the river.

I reached Speyer at about 1400 having completed 76 km today. I was in need of a shower as it was so hot and humid. After cleaning up in my room I went into town it was lovely very old but with all the latest shops and of course plenty of cafes and ice cream parlours it was lovely just looking around.

The technical museum as you cycle into town

Above is area of the town and my hotel is just round the corner easy walking around.

Tomorrow I’m pushing on to Nierstein where the vineyards are so that will be interesting.

4 thoughts on “Mothern to Speyer

  1. Hi Liz

    It sounds like you had a super evening. What lovely people there are.

    Your day today sounds very interesting and lovely pictures.

    No doubt you already know but the weather here has been horrid. Loads of rain all week with flooding in parts of the country including Lincolnshire but not so bad today with a little evening sunshine now just coming through.

    Hope you have a restful night and another great day tomorrow – will look forward to seeing what you have been up to!!

    Take care and stay safe

    xx

    Sent from Mail for Windows 10

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. All interesting stuff Liz… I’ve just read the last weeks updates in one go! Is this trip harder than Canada? There seems to be obstacles, wildlife and ‘deviations’ to overcome most days but the scenery is certainly picturesque. It’s nice when you meet families happy to take you in and feed you properly though and of course provide red wine! (Fancy meeting the guys from Kings Lynn.) The warm shower place where the guy was being deported sounded very creepy though. And how did they get that 747 on top of the museum? Stay safe Liz and needs must if you have to have a Maccy D’s on the odd occasion, who cares. cos’ I bet overall you lose weight x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.