Lunenburg back to Timberlea near Halifax

Well it was with sadness I left Lunenburg as I had such a wonderful time at my Airbnb and visiting the surrounding area. It is an area that is just fantastic full of little hidden jems  and people that are so friendly and seem to have time for one another which is so refreshing to see and be a part of for such a short time.

I left my hosts place on Saturday morning in bright sunshine ready to hit the trail at about 0930. After another of Jill’s amazing breakfasts which were to die for (if I mentioned blueberry pancakes maple syrup and Canadian bacon  with lovely tea, and fresh fruit) this would give you a flavour as to how my days started.

I decided on the way back to stick to the road some of the way just for the views and to avoid the uneven trail in some parts and this seemed to work well apart from some nice hills near Chester but all in a days cycling now. 
  Tourist info centre in down town Mahone Bay just so typical  of the lovely buildings and so in keeping with the area.

   

 Saying goodbye to Mahone Bay as I pedal round the inlet

   The views of the water and islands from Gold River

  
Then it was on to Chester Basin which was pretty to be honest every bay had something different and made keeping my eyes on the road difficult.

I made about 69km the first day allowing me a very easy ride into Timberlea today which was all on the trail.  Dale and Dorothy had cycled out from Halifax and waited for me to arrive at The Bike and Bean cafe on the trail so I had breakfast there and may I say the muffins were to die for it is such a fantastic cafe/bike shop great idea and very popular on a Sunday morning. 

  
Dorothy  and I on the trail later Dorothy took charge of Black  Betty I believe Dale may now have to buy his wife a new saddle and possibly new handle bars and pedals? Black Betty may not be built for speed but she’s like a well worn comfy armchair well loved.

So as I get ready to box the old gal up for her flight home in 3 weeks she has served me well and completed 7,055 km – problems 3 punctures and a new chain at Thunder Bay  replaced as maintenance and her bottom bracket tightened twice. Tyres  still have plenty wear and brakes pads have not been replaced. She will be lovely overhauled and serviced on my return to England.

Have I enjoyed myself you bet I have and would I do it all again,when do I start!!!

A view from my motel window

   
 

7 thoughts on “Lunenburg back to Timberlea near Halifax

  1. What an adventure, you will never forget it Liz. I’ve really enjoyed following your travels and the wonderful pictures along the way. The east coast looks exceptionally beautiful. I think you’ve sold it to us. I’d always wanted to visit Canada and now it’s definitely gone on my bucket list! ….And second that to the pic of you both when Pete arrives! I bet you are really looking forward to seeing him now. Enjoy x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

